[ad_1] Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli return to India's T20I squad

Jan 8, 2024

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli return to India's T20I squad


Comeback after 14-month gap

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli last appeared in a T20I for India in the T20 World Cup semifinal against England in November 2022.

Image Source: AFP

Rohit Sharma to lead India

Hardik Pandya's injury in the ODI World Cup and Suryakumar Yadav's ligament tear resulted in a lot of inexperience at the top of the order.

Image Source: Getty Images

Rohit may lead India in T20 WC too

While Rohit's chances of leading India in the T20 World Cup has considerably brightened, the development comes across as a big blow to Hardik's captaincy ambitions at the global event in June.

Image Source: Getty Images

Sanju Samson in the squad

The T20 squad also featured Sanju Samson and Jitesh Sharma, who will be the two glovesmen with Ishan Kishan being ignored for the shortest format.

Image Source: AFP

Bumrah, Jadeja rested

Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja, the two Test team certainties, have been rested and Ruturaj Gaikwad isn't fit to play yet.

Image Source: PTI

‚ÄčIndia's last series before the World Cup

All-rounder Shivam Dube has also been named in the squad in Hardik's absence. The Afghanistan series will be India's last before the World Cup, which takes place right after the IPL.

Image Source: PTI

'It's a very tough decision'

Former South Africa captain Graeme Smith reckons leaving out the likes of Rohit and Kohli from any team is extremely tough.

Image Source: PTI

India's Squad for 3 T20Is against Afghanistan

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

Image Source: PTI

Next: David Warner's Farewell Test: Australia sweep Pakistan 3-0