Australia unveil 14-member squad for West Indies T20Is; Mitchell Marsh to lead


Cricket Australia (CA) has officially announced the 14-member squad that will represent Australia in the upcoming T20 International series against the West Indies. Star all-rounder Mitchell Marsh, who previously led the side during the South Africa tour, will once again captain the team.

Speculation surrounds T20 World Cup captaincy

With the T20 World Cup 2024 on the horizon, speculation continues regarding the captaincy of the Australian T20 squad. While no official announcement has been made, it is widely believed that Test and ODI captain Pat Cummins, currently rested for the West Indies series, remains the top candidate for the leadership role.

Cummins and Mitchell Starc to be unavailable

In a strategic move, CA has opted to rest key players Cummins and Mitchell Starc for the West Indies T20Is due to ongoing minor physical issues. Both players are expected to make a comeback in the series against New Zealand, serving as Australia’s final T20 preparation ahead of the T20 World Cup.

Steve Smith takes a break

Senior batter Steve Smith, who was experimented as an opener in the recent series against India, has been granted a break for the West Indies T20Is. In his absence, Big Bash League (BBL) standout Matt Short is expected to partner with David Warner at the top of the batting order.

Also READ: Australia skipper Pat Cummins opens up on Glenn Maxwell’s night out incident

Glenn Maxwell returns

Star all-rounder Glenn Maxwell and pace bowler Nathan Ellis, who were rested for the ODIs, make their return to the T20I squad. Their inclusion adds experience and depth to the Australian lineup as they gear up for the challenging series against the West Indies.

Countdown to T20 World Cup begins

The T20I series against the West Indies is set to kick off on February 7 in Hobart, followed by matches in Adelaide and Perth. Marsh and his team aim for a strong performance as they fine-tune their preparations ahead of the T20 World Cup later in the year.

Australia T20I squad for West Indies T20Is: Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Also READ: Australia update ODI squad for West Indies series; Jake Fraser-McGurk gets maiden call-up


Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *