ICC unveils Men’s T20I team of the Year 2023; four Indians make the cut


The year 2023 witnessed a spectacular display of cricketing talent in the T20I format, with players from around the world showcasing their skills and dominating the field.

As we have now stepped into 2024, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has unveiled its Men’s T20I Team of the Year for 2023, recognizing outstanding individuals who left an indelible mark on the cricketing landscape. Surprisingly, the prestigious lineup features no players from cricket powerhouses Pakistan, Australia and South Africa.

ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2023

On that note, let’s take a closer look at the stellar performers who made the cut and were included in ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year for 2023.


1. Yashasvi Jaiswal (India)

With 430 runs in 14 innings at a remarkable strike rate of 159, Yashasvi Jaiswal‘s explosive batting was a highlight of 2023. His century against Nepal in the Asian Games showcased his prowess and earned him a spot as an opener in the ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year for 2023.

Phil Salt
Phil Salt (Image Source: Twitter)

2. Phil Salt (England)

Phil Salt‘s late-year heroics in 2023 included back-to-back centuries against the West Indies in December, finishing the year with 394 runs in just eight innings. Averaging 56.28 and striking at 169.09, Salt’s power-hitting secured him a deserved spot as Jaiswal’s opening partner

Middle-order and Captaincy:

3. Nicholas Pooran (wk) (West Indies)

With 384 runs in 13 innings at a strike rate nearing 163, Nicholas Pooran‘s wicketkeeping skills and explosive batting secured his place as wicketkeeper-batter in the ICC’s Men’s T20I Team of the Year for 2023.

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav (Image Source: Twitter)

4. Suryakumar Yadav (c) (India)

A consistent performer, Suryakumar Yadav scored 733 runs in 18 T20Is in 2023, including two centuries. His leadership skills in the absence of Hardik Pandya and Rohit Sharma were equally impressive and earned him the captaincy role. This also marked Suryakumar’s second consecutive inclusion in the ICC T20I Team of the Year.

Also READ: Virat Kohli pulls out of first two Tests against England


5. Mark Chapman (New Zealand)

Mark Chapman showcased remarkable prowess with bat for the Blackcaps, amassing an impressive total of 576 runs at an average of 44.30. Consequently, he earned his well-deserved placement in the all-rounders category.

6. Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe)

Sikandar Raza had another exceptional year, scoring 515 runs and taking 17 wickets in 12 matches. His all-round contribution played a pivotal role for Zimbabwe. His inclusion for the second time in the ICC T20I Team of the Year underscores his vital role in Zimbabwe’s success.

Sikandar Raza
Sikandar Raza (Image Source: Twitter)

7. Alpesh Ramjani (Uganda)

A revelation for Ugandan cricket, Alpesh Ramjani‘s outstanding performance with 55 wickets at an economy of 4.77 and contribution of 449 runs with the bat played a pivotal role in Uganda’s qualification for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. His remarkable achievements earned him a well-deserved spot in the ICC Team of the Year.

8. Mark Adair (Ireland):

Ireland’s Mark Adair impressed with 26 wickets at an economy of 7.42. In addition to his prowess on the bowling front, he made a significant contribution with the bat, amassing 161 runs. As a testament to his outstanding performances, he successfully secured a spot in the ICC’s team of the year for the shortest format.


9. Ravi Bishnoi (India)

Ravi Bishnoi claimed 18 wickets in 44 overs, securing the top spot on the ICC T20 Bowling Rankings by the end of the year. His stellar performance was well highlighted during the home series against Australia, earning him a place as a spin bowler in the ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year for 2023.

10. Richard Ngarava (Zimbabwe)

Richard Ngarava‘s 26 wickets in 15 matches at an economy of 5.63 showcased his bowling prowess, making him an invaluable asset for Zimbabwe and prompting his inclusion in the ICC Team of the Year.

Arshdeep Singh
Arshdeep Singh (Image Source: Twitter)

11. Arshdeep Singh (India)

Building on his T20 World Cup success in 2022, Arshdeep Singh continued to excel in 2023, picking up 26 wickets in 21 appearances for India. His consistent performance makes him a key asset in the bowling department. Like Suryakumar, this was Arshdeep’s second consecutive inclusion in the ICC T20I Team of the Year.

Also READ: Sachin Tendulkar, Ravindra Jadeja and other cricket icons attend Shri Ram Mandir ‘Pran Pratishtha’ event; pictures and videos go viral


Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *