ICC unveils Men’s Test team of the year 2023; only two batters from FAB 4 secure spots


The year 2023 has etched its place in cricketing history, witnessing remarkable Test performances and unforgettable moments. From the high-stakes conclusion of the World Test Championship 2021-23 cycle to the intense Ashes series, the cricketing world has been treated to a captivating spectacle throughout the past year.

As we stride into the realms of 2024, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has unfurled the canvas of excellence with the revelation of the Men’s Test Team of the Year 2023. This distinguished selection serves as a tribute to and recognition of the exceptional endeavours exhibited by standout performers in the revered format of Test cricket throughout the preceding year.

Surprisingly, Virat Kohli and Steve Smith from the FAB 4 group of cricketers couldn’t make the cut to ICC’s best annual team of the year for 2023. It’s worth noting that the term “The Fab Four” means ‘Fabulous four’ and is a phrase coined by cricket experts that brings together the outstanding quartet of Test batters in the modern era, including India’s Kohli, England’s Joe Root, Australia’s Smith, and New Zealand’s Kane Williamson.

ICC Men’s Test team of the Year 2023


1. Usman Khawaja (Australia)

For the second consecutive time, Usman Khawaja secures his place as the opener in the ICC Test Team of the Year. With an extraordinary 1210 runs in 13 matches at an average of 52.60, including six centuries and six fifties, Khawaja’s resilience at the crease was unmatched in 2023.

Usman Khawaja
Usman Khawaja (Image Source: Twitter)

2. Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka)

Dimuth Karunaratne‘s limited appearances in 2023 did not go unnoticed. Amassing a staggering 608 runs for Sri Lanka in just six Tests at an average of 60.8, he rightfully claimed his spot as Khawaja’s partner in the opening slot.


3. Kane Williamson (New Zealand)

Despite grappling with injuries, Kane Williamson‘s class shone through as he notched up four centuries, finishing the year with 695 Test runs. A testament to his resilience, Williamson rightfully earned a spot in the Test Team of the Year.

4. Joe Root (England)

In a dazzling display of consistency, Joe Root secured his place in the ICC Test Team of the Year for the fourth time. The former England captain and a member of the FAB 4 club amassed an impressive 787 runs in eight matches at an average of 65.58 in 2023, leaving an indelible mark in the longest format.

Joe Root
Joe Root (Image Source: Twitter)

5. Travis Head (Australia)

Travis Head‘s memorable outing in 2023 includes a heroic century in the World Test Championship Final, guiding Australia to victory. With 919 Test runs in 12 matches, his dominance makes him an unequivocal choice for the middle-order.

All-rounders and captaincy

6. Ravindra Jadeja (India)

With 281 runs and 33 wickets in just seven matches, Ravindra Jadeja‘s all-round prowess brings balance to the ICC Test Team of the Year, showcasing his effectiveness in limited appearances.

7. Alex Carey (wk) (Australia)

Alex Carey takes the wicketkeeper-batsman position, amassing 54 dismissals in 12. Carey’s dual proficiency with the bat, contributing 461 runs, cements his place in the lineup of best performers.

8. Pat Cummins (c) (Australia)

In a golden year, Pat Cummins not only led Australia to triumph in the WTC Final 203 and retained the Ashes urn but also wreaked havoc with 42 wickets in 11 matches. His handy 254 runs contribute to his captaincy role in the ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year.

Pat Cummins
Pat Cummins (Image Source: Twitter)

Also READ: ICC names Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2023; Jasprit Bumrah fails to make the cut


9. Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

In just seven matches, Ravichandran Ashwin picked up an impressive 41 wickets, coupled with a valuable contribution of 150 runs. His crafty spin makes him a well-deserved inductee into the Test Team of the Year.

10. Mitchell Starc (Australia)

Mitchell Starc’s 38 wickets in nine matches showcase his resilience, delivering crucial blows whenever the team needed him. His inclusion is a testament to his impactful performances throughout 2023.

11. Stuart Broad (England)

In the final year of his illustrious career, Stuart Broad marked a stellar end with 38 wickets. Playing a pivotal role in England’s Ashes draw, Broad’s inclusion in the Test Team of the Year is a fitting tribute to his remarkable journey.

Stuart Broad
Stuart Broad (Image Source: Twitter)

Also READ: ICC unveils Men’s T20I team of the Year 2023; four Indians make the cut


Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *