ICC unveils Women’s T20I team of the Year 2023; only one Indian makes the cut


The year 2023 has etched its place in cricketing history as a year of incredible performances, thrilling moments, and records shattered in the fast-paced world of Women’s T20 International cricket.

As the cricketing community transitions into 2024, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has honoured outstanding individuals by revealing its Women’s T20I Team of the Year for 2023. However, what stands out is the surprising scarcity of Indian players in the prestigious lineup, with only one cricketer making the cut.

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year 2023:


1. Chamari Athapaththu (c) (Sri Lanka)

Chamari Athapaththu‘s remarkable leadership and batting prowess, amassing 470 runs at a strike rate of 130.91, guided Sri Lanka to historic triumphs over New Zealand and England, earning her a spot as the team’s captain and opener.

Chamari Athapaththu
Chamari Athapaththu (Image Source: Twitter)

2. Beth Mooney (wk) (Australia)

A key figure in Australia’s T20 World Cup victory, Beth Mooney‘s 410 runs at an impressive average of 41 secured her position as an opener in the ICC’s Women’s T20I Team of the Year.


3. Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa)

The second-highest run-scorer in women’s T20Is in 2023, Laura Wolvaardt‘s 586 runs at an average of 45 made her an undeniable choice for the middle-order.

Also READ: Women’s Premier League – Complete schedule for WPL 2024; Mumbai Indians to meet Delhi Capitals in the opener


4. Hayley Matthews (West Indies)

The most-highest run-getter in women’s T20Is in 2023 with 700 runs at a striking average of 63.63 and 19 wickets at an economy of 6.84, Hayley Matthews‘ inclusion in the team was no surprise.

5. Nat Sciver-Brunt (England)

Nat Sciver-Brunt‘s all-round brilliance, scoring 364 runs at an average of 45.50 and claiming five wickets, earned her a well-deserved place in the ICC’s Team of the Year.

Nat Sciver-Brunt
Nat Sciver-Brunt (Image Source: Twitter)

6. Amelia Kerr (New Zealand)

Amelia Kerr‘s stellar year included 365 runs with the bat and 12 wickets with her leg-spin, showcasing her all-round excellence for the Blackcaps.

7. Ellyse Perry (Australia)

Ellyse Perry‘s impressive stats of 319 runs at an average of 45.57 and a strike rate of 151.18 secured her spot as an all-rounder in the team.

8. Ash Gardner (Australia)

Named the player of the tournament in the T20 World Cup, Ash Gardner contributed with both bat and ball, finishing the year with 234 runs and 17 wickets at an economy of 7.33.


9. Deepti Sharma (India)

The sole representative from India, Deepti Sharma‘s off-spin accounted for 21 wickets in 17 outings, making her a standout performer in the bowling department.

10. Sophie Ecclestone (England)

Ending the year as the No.1 ranked Women’s T20I bowler with 777 rating points, Sophie Ecclestone‘s 23 wickets in 11 matches at an average of 10.60 highlighted her dominance.

Sophie Ecclestone
Sophie Ecclestone (Image Source: Twitter)

11. Megan Schutt (Australia)

With 21 wickets at 15.57 and an economy rate of 6.81, Megan Schutt‘s pace and swing made her a formidable force and the sole full-time fast bowler in the ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year.

Also READ: Ellyse Perry to Suzie Bates: 4 women cricketers who have played 300 international matches

This article was first published at WomenCricket.com, a Cricket Times company.


Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *